Back to top
Back to top

World Heritage Sites in the UK

There are currently 28 World Heritage Sites (WHS) in the UK. They vary greatly and include archaeological sites, historic buildings, natural formations, urban centres and industrial landscapes. This diverse range of sites demonstrates the wealth of natural, historical and cultural property contained and preserved within the UK today.

The UK National Commission for UNESCO (UKNC), the UK Government and UNESCO are committed to working together towards identifying, protecting, conserving, presenting and transmitting these places for the benefit of future generations. The World Heritage status is a prestigious designation and can help create a sense of national and local pride. Inscription can promote tourism, and increased focus on the conservation of a site. Becoming part of the World Heritage List, give sites new opportunities to reach out to and engage with the local community, particularly young people.

The Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) is responsible for the UK’s general compliance with the World Heritage Convention, including the nomination of UK sites. The devolved administrations in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland are responsible for identifying sites within their respective territories for inclusion on the nomination list. The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) is responsible for identifying nominations in the UK’s overseas territories and the Home Office for the Crown Dependencies.

The UKNC works closely with Department for Culture, Media and Sport and other partners, such as English Heritage, Cadw and Historic Scotland, towards the effective implementation of the World Heritage Convention in the UK. This includes providing expert analysis and advice and acting as coordinator and facilitator on specific World Heritage matters and providing input to Government consultations.

By Type
Total: 28
Cultural: 23
Natural: 4
Mixed: 1
By Geography
Total: 28
England: 16
Scotland: 5
Wales: 3
Northern Ireland: 1
Overseas Territories: 3

Back to top

Regional and accessibility